Regulatory Reform Order

Replacing the Fire Precautions Act 1971, the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005 (RRO) was enacted in October 2006. The RRO is probably one of the most significant changes in fire safety legislation this country has ever seen.

Under the RRO, the responsibility for fire safety in premises now rests with the “responsible person” to ensure that there are adequate fire safety precautions in place.

Anyone who has control of the premises or anyone who has a degree of control over certain areas or systems may be a “responsible person“. For example, it could be:

– An employer
– A managing agent or owner of shared premises
– The occupier such as self-employed persons or voluntary organisations
– Any other person that has some control over part of the premises

The Regulatory Reform Order is a risk assessment-based regime.

The RRO applies to a much broader spectrum of premises including any premises where 5 or more persons are employed.

Failure to comply is an offence.

Any premises falling within the jurisdiction of the RRO could be liable to an inspection at any time.

The fire safety officer from the inspecting Fire Authority will want to establish that the RRO is being complied with and in this respect will ask to see the following.

– Your fire risk assessment
– A copy of the emergency action plan for the premises
– Evidence of staff training and fire drills
– The most recent service certificate for the fire alarm system
– The most recent service certificate for the emergency lighting system
– The most recent service certificate for the fire fighting equipment
– Records of alarm tests in the site Log Book
– Records of emergency lighting tests in the site Log Book
– Any other evidence which may support your compliance with the above named Order

Fixfire offers a single source to compliance. From an initial fire risk assessment right through to the implementation of improved fire precautions measures, Fixfire will help you every step of the way.

The Government has categorised premises into 11 different types and produced a guide for each category to assist ‘responsible persons’ in understanding and fulfilling their responsibilities.

The premises types are detailed below.

– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Offices and Shops
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Factories and Warehouses
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Sleeping Accommodation
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Residential Care Premises
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Educational Premises
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Small and Medium Places of Assembly
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Large Places of Assembly
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Theatres, Cinemas and Similar Premises
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Open Air Events and Venues
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Healthcare premises
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Transport Premises and Facilities
– Fire Safety Risk Assessment – Animal Premises and Stables

You can download your own copy of the appropriate guide(s) on the UK Legislation website;